Here’s a CHEAP CAMERA

Photo on 2-2-16 at 6.31 PM

cheap /CHēp/-worth more than its cost

Well that’s me and what seems to be a cheap plastic camera (plus the plastic camera filter for mac because why not). It’s not cheap, maybe its plastic, but not cheap. By appearance it’s not the most luxurious piece of equipment that I own, nonetheless it’s one of my favorites.

LESSON TIME:

I’m not going to lie… I received this camera as a Christmas present and rapidly judged it by its appearance. It didn’t seem to have much potential or aesthetic appeal. Next to some of my antiques and “more professional” cameras it seemed to lack power and buttons. Once my research was done I was astounded, this was a one of a kind lomography (creative kind of photography) camera with a story behind it. lomogrpahy.jpg

*all credit to the unknown photographer*

I guess I forgot to not judge a book by its cover. Now how many times do we do this? I had a flip phone a few years ago and I thought it was the worst phone ever (it kinda is though), and then, I got a smartphone and quickly realized that that little plastic phone that I had once owned had better signal than my so-called “smartphone.” Just like the camera, I was quick to judge the little phone. Although it seemed like a silly little mistake, it was a bit deeper than just that. Through the lens of my camera (heh) I realized that sadly this is done everyday by people around the world about subjects more important than a plastic camera.

Judging is a huge problem and can lead to bullying, arguments, and unexplained hatred. Both girls and guys are fully guilty of doing this, young and old . Now judging isn’t always bad. You need your sense of judgement to make wise choices and ultimately protect yourself. The problem is when you start to judge without any knowledge on the subject. If you’ve never tasted vinegar then how can you tell me it tastes bad? The same goes for people around us, our minds have been trained to quickly label people with simply a word.  Some of these words can be as simple as; child, adult, sister, etc. But my fellow teenagers let’s be honest, how many times do we see a person and only think “well that’s a person”? When it comes to social areas in adolescent lives we tend to criticize a bit harsher. Labels such as player, nerd, slut, stuck-up, and others are thoughtlessly thrown around. Exactly how can you tell if a guy’s a player simply by his haircut? Yeah, it’s called stereotypes. The thought that a girl wearing a short skirt is a slut, or that a person studying is a nerd, is pure stupidity (sorry, but hey I’m being honest). We have to learn to retrain our brains and mind to not label, because unless you’re a label maker you shouldn’t be labeling. Judge people once you know their character and know what type of people you want in your life. Also make sure you judge yourself from time to time because you’re not perfect either. And no the Bible never says to not judge, it says to not think of yourself as higher because of someone’s sins.

 

“Speak up and judge fairly.”- Proverbs 31:9

“How would your life be different if…You stopped making negative judgmental assumptions about people you encounter? Let today be the day…You look for the good in everyone you meet and respect their journey.” – Steve Maraboli

“We’ve spent so much time judging what other people created that we’ve created very, very little of our own.” – Chuck Palanuick

I LOVE YOU (in a not weird way)

4 thoughts on “Here’s a CHEAP CAMERA

Leave a Reply

